Narasimhaye’s Blog

Sloka for Lighting Lamp

Posted on: October 2, 2011

Sloka for Lighting Lamp

Light is considered as a symbol of auspiciousness, prosperity
and abundance in the Hindu religion. Light brings brightness with it and removes
the darkness. Light makes it possible to see things clearly. Following Sloka /
Shloka can be recited while lighting the lamp. This prayer is also known ”deepa
shlokam”.
“Subham Karoti Kalyanam
Arogyam Dhana
Sampadah

Shatru Buddhi Vinashaya
Dipa Jyotir Namostute
Meaning: The accurate meaning of the mantra is: “I fold
my hands before the light that brings prosperity, auspiciousness, good health,
abundance of wealth and destruction of the enemy’s intellect”. Here, Darkness
symbolizes enemy’s intellect and with the arrival of light, darkness disappears.
Likewise, light (God’s Grace) destroys darkness (enemy’s intellect).
“Deepajyothi Parabrahma
Deepajyothi
Janardhana

Deepo Me Hara Tu Paapam
Deepaa Jyothir
Namostute”
Meaning: The literal meaning of the mantra is: “I fold my
hands before the lord, the maintainer of this creation, in the form of this
light. I adore this light, which destroys all the pains resulting from my
omissions and commissions”.

1 Response to "Sloka for Lighting Lamp"

Thanks.But pl let me know the correct procedure for lighting the lamp in pooja room at home in detail quoting appropriate scriptures in this regard.

Leave a Reply

  • Narasimhaye: If you are able to talk to your or sister and your girl cousins, you will be able to speak to any girl you like. Don't be shy. Try to be confident in
  • arjun: sir please help me I cannot talk to any girl I'm not frank and I am very afraid of doing things I think what the world will think I don't have confide
  • Narasimhaye: I meant do Puja , not pika sorry.
